I Hate Myself For Loving You (when i’m drunk)

It’s weird how different moods or states of mind can effect one’s taste.

Case in point: Kid Rock. 

It should be noted that I bought my first Kid Rock record in ’91. I was 12 and thought that “Yoodlin’ in the Valley” was the shit. Obviously my tastes have matured and become more refined since then. It should also be noted that Too Short produced that record and that he toured with Ice Cube after the record came out. Had there been no Vanilla Ice I think that the world would have been much more kind to tall haired white rappers. 

But the world is not a fair place to the tall haired white rapper. So I’m left with feeling horrible every time I’m a little drunk and I wanna hear some Kid Rock. I hate myself for it. I really wanna get past it but something keeps pulling me back to it. Why, God ? Why ?

I detest most of what the man says. I mean “I met the President when I was half stoned” ? Dude, respect the office. I’ve met Presidents and felt bad for having a drink before hand. I guess that me and Kid Rock are two very different people. Thats probably a good thing. 

See, it’s not that I’m a fan of the Kid. I just get a little drunk and wanna hear some white trash shit. Maybe it’s because we’re both from Macomb County (the only county that matters). Maybe it’s class tourism. I don’t know.

All I know is that I’m half ashamed and hope that God will help me overcome this terrible affliction. This is probably not a good time to mention that I also enjoy “Family Tradition” by Hank Jr. . My credibility has suffered a huge blow with this post.

C

~ by chrismarchione on January 2, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
